Home | Search Library Catalogue | Contact Us   

Where are we?
About joining
Search Catalogue
Check your Record
COLLECTIONS
Newspapers
Genealogy
LIBRARY SERVICES
Fees and charges
COMMUNITY SERVICES
Programmes for kids
Programmes for teens
Housebound service
Maori
RESOURCES
Databases
National Library of NZ
Useful links
Local A-Z Directory
CONTACT US
Contact information
 

Databases

To use these databases, you must be a current member of the South Waikato District Libraries. 

You will need to use your library card number to use many of the listed databases.  Your number is found on the front of your card by the barcode. 

Please note that you will need to type in the letter 'B' before your number on many of these databases.

The following products do not require your barcode for access:
Business and Industry, Business
and Management Practices, Contemporary Women’s Issues, findNZarticles, Index New Zealand, and TableBase.


Te Puna

Index New Zealand (citations only)
This database contains listings and abstracts for hundreds of New Zealand newspapers and magazines/journals.

It is prepared, maintained, and hosted by the National Library of New Zealand – and you can find information on: 
  • Articles about New Zealand or the South Pacific
  • Articles about people
  • Newspaper articles featuring New Zealand, New Zealanders, or South Pacific people.

BUT Index New Zealand will locate citations only: as it is not a full text service.  In other words, you’ll get the title, author, publication name and date, page references, and subject headings of the article(s). 

If you need to get hold of the actual articles or chapters, talk to one of our librarians.

  • Articles or chapters can be requested from other libraries for you as interloan items – for the standard $5.00 interloan charge.
  • But sometimes we need to ask for material from libraries who charge us: so the cost to you may be higher than $5.00.  We would contact you if this was the case, though.
  • The articles or chapters are then sent to us as photocopied sheets, which we pass on to you.
     
findNZarticles
This service is a very comprehensive tool for finding material about New Zealand topics. Hosted by the National Library of New Zealand, it also links contributions from public libraries and other New Zealand research institutions.

You can search for material using the following categories. The available resources under these categories are listed here.


CULTURE:

Index New Zealand

Index New Zealand chapters
(i.e. in books or conference proceedings)
Te Ao Hou
 (a Dept. of Maori Affairs publication: 1952-1974

NEWSPAPERS
Index New Zealand
Christchurch City Libraries
 (Christchurch Press1995– ) (Christchurch Star, 1998- )Dunedin City Libraries  (Otago Daily Times, 1993-)  

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
BUGS -
Research on NZ insects, etc.  from 1775-1993.
Landcare Research -
Staff research from 1992–
Royal Society of NZ
- NZ science journals from 1918-1994
STIX -
NZ science and technical journals up to 1994. 

BUT  findNZarticles will locate citations only: as it is not a full text service.
In other words, you’ll get the title, author, publication name and date, page references, and subject headings of the article(s). But if you need to get hold of the actual articles or chapters,
talk to one of our librarians.

If you need to get hold of the actual articles or chapters, talk to one of our librarians.

  • Articles or chapters can be requested from other libraries for you as interloan items – for the standard $5.00 interloan charge.
  • But sometimes we need to ask for material from libraries who charge us: so the cost to you may be higher than $5.00.  We would contact you if this was the case, though.
  • The articles or chapters are then sent to us as photocopied sheets, which we pass on to you.
     

Biography Resource Center

Biography Resource Centre
Whether you are interested in musicians, sports figures, or famous people from the past, this is the place to look…

You can also search this database by country, occupation, gender, or date(s). This means that you can make your search very specific (e.g. army generals of France, 1790-1820), or more general (e.g. female composers).

This is a really good tool, for example, for both teachers and their students.

A teacher may, for example, set a class assignment upon “explorers of New Zealand.”  Using this database, students will discover that James Cook and Abel Tasman were not the only explorers who saw, landed in, or mapped this country.
 

Discovering Collection

Discovering Collection
This database is designed specifically for high school students.

It has a number of features to help students studying cultures of the world, geography, literature, science, U.S. history, and world history.

Each of these topic areas has a dedicated topic tree – under which are nested dozens of related subjects organised alphabetically. Or you can try a subject search: and either broaden or narrow your subject as you need to. You now have access to : 
  • creative works
  • a (U.S.A.) dictionary
  • multimedia resources
  • (digitised) primary sources
  • reference books
  • a step-by-step guide to doing written homework assignments (called Toolbox)

The materials in these tools are graded for difficulty: basic, intermediate, and advanced. That way, there’s less risk that you’ll select a source that is too hard for you to read or use.

Student Resource Center - College Edition

Student Resource Centre - College Edition
This database is just a more advanced and comprehensive version of the Discovering Collection discussed above. It is designed for polytechnic or university students.

It has the same features as the Discovering Collection for those studying the cultures of the world, geography, literature, science, U.S. history, and world history. There are additional resources here too, though.


With this database, you also have access to:
  • academic articles
  • magazine articles
  • news items

If you’re studying English or other languages, don’t forget to try the Literature Resource Centre

If you’re studying history, try the History Resource Centre  

If these resources can’t locate what you’re looking for, try the general purpose databases (InfoTrac OneFile or MasterFile Premier)
 

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

Health and Welfare Resource Centre and Alternative Health Module
This database contains a range of online medical reference books: and includes a medical dictionary.

It also gives access to a huge number of academic articles and research information from trusted sources: on everything from alternative medicine to zygotes. So…  
  • If you’re curious about medical terms that your doctor or nurse may be using, or
  • you want to check up the current research on a condition you may have (like diabetes, for example)
  • you want to be informed of the reported side-effects of the medications you are taking.

then this is the database for you…

PLEASE NOTE:
Use of this database is not the same as consulting a chemist, doctor, or nurse about your health. Using this database instead of consulting a medical professional is not recommended.
 

History Resource Center: World

History Resource Centre - World
This database contains tools and information for those interested in or studying arts, history, biography, cultural studies, political studies, and much more.  This database is largely focused on the U.S.A.

You can search this database for particular people, subject(s), or events that may have happened within a given year or decade.

A person can be located by birth or death dates, occupation, nationality, or gender.

A subject search gives you a list of broader or related subjects: as well as the word(s) you entered.

The built-in time line (from prehistory to the present day) is broken down into century and decade. These then give listings of ”headlines” for the chosen era’s important events, discoveries, and news stories.

The built in Research Guide gives an extraordinary guide to planning, writing and editing a piece of historical writing.

Information from this database could be supplemented by using the
Biography Resource Centre and Literature Resource Centre databases as well.
 

General OneFile

General OneFile
This database is by far the largest product we offer, with access to more than 60 million abstracts and full-text articles on a huge range of topics.

It is a one-stop shop…

Whether you are interested in sport, entertainment, computing, science, education, culture, news, or home improvement – you will find information and resources here on these topics and thousands of other subjects.

This database is USA-based, and it uses a large number of USA-based resources. So it may not be as good at finding New Zealand materials as the EBSCO  (i.e. Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre and MasterFile Premier) or New Zealand databases (Index New Zealand and findNZarticles).

But as a way of getting an international view on a huge array of topics – it is hard to beat…

If you need to get hold of the actual articles (where there is only a citation in the database), talk to one of our librarians
  • Articles can be requested from other libraries for you as interloan items – for the standard $5.00 interloan charge.
  • But sometimes we need to ask for material from libraries who charge us: so the cost to you may be higher than $5.00.  We would contact you if this was the case, though.

The articles are then sent to us as photocopied sheets, which we pass on to you.
 

Literature Resource Center - LRC, Scribner Writers Series Online, Twayne's Authors Online

Literature Resource Centre
This database contains a variety of tools for the avid reader, the student of English (or other languages), or someone who writes book reviews or literary criticism.

You can search for authors by date, gender, genre (style), literary movement (e.g. transcendentalism), and nationality: or all of these at once…

You can also search for titles using keywords or authors
Also included in this product are:
  • an encyclopaedia of literature
  • an encyclopaedia of literary terms
  • thousands of plot summaries
  • an extremely good introduction to planning, researching, editing and presenting written essays/assignments.

This tool is recommended for those interested in: debating, drama, history, ideas, languages, public speaking, and writing.

However, if you’re just looking for new books to read, you’d be better to use the What Do I Read Next? database, or our
online library catalogue.

 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Centre
This database is the one to use if you’re looking for information on today’s “hot” topics.

It’s big plus is covering both sides of the argument: for a large number of current issues, e.g. the death penalty, corporal punishment, just war or euthanasia.

This makes it an ideal tool for people interested in current affairs, in ethics, ideas, religion or history, or who are involved in public speaking or debating.
 

What Do I Read Next?

What Do I Read Next?
We’ve all been there…

Finding a book, author or genre that we really like, and wondering:
  • are there any more books by that author?
  • are there more books in this series ?
  • does anyone else write similar books?
  • or what can I get my child or grandchild or husband to read?

This database can be a real help in answering these questions.

You can search for books by author, title, genre (style), character, series, the age group (of the reader), and time period: and whether you want fiction or non-fiction.  There are other search tools too – but you can discover those yourself… 

Another useful feature is a plot summary of each title: which you can access by clicking on the title itself.


This product is a useful, non-technical companion to the
Literature Resource Centre.
 

Start searching Business & Industry (RDS) (SP00)

Contemporary Women's Issues
This database contains a huge amount of material that was unavailable before in one place. Many of these pamphlets, broadsheets, and statistical materials had never been indexed: so they were invisible to people interested in them.
 

What is now available? Information on hundreds of topics, including:

                  

child rearing, crimes against women and/or children, economics, education, equal opportunity, feminism, patriarchy, poverty, racism, sexism, work, etc…

 

You can also search by country, as well as by subject, or by format (article, review, etc.).

 

This resource is perfect for those interested in:  anthropology, cultural studies, debating, gender studies, history, literature, philosophy, political studies, sociology, and women’s studies (and much more)…


Business and Management Practices
Business and Industry
TableBase

This set of databases is designed for the person in business, the busy professional, or the student. They are useful for keeping up with the relevant research and writing in a whole range of business and related activities.
 

They are U.S.A.-based and focused, but there is quite a bit of New Zealand content and comment. Company information does tend, though, to revolve around our bigger businesses.

Each database can be searched by itself,
or all three can be searched at once on the same screen.

Use Business and Industry for key facts, figures, and business-related events, comment upon broader business issues and trends
, and for industry forecasts and business/sector overviews.

Use Business and Management Practices if you’re looking for case studies, comment on legislation, or the applications of technology or
new theory to business.

 

Use TableBase if you’re looking for hard-to-find graphs, tables, and statistics about specific business types or industries. You can also find information on individual businesses if they are large enough: e.g. Fisher & Paykel or Fonterra.

 

These are really useful resources if you are interested in or studying: advertising, accounting, business, human resources, law, management, or marketing. They are also beneficial if you are engaged in research and development, or are involved in environmental scanning.
 

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
This database is a collection of full text articles from magazines, newspapers, reference books, and industry publications from both Australia and New Zealand. There are also several hundred thousand searchable images present.

You can use this database to keep abreast of news in the various regions of Australia and New Zealand; to monitor the fortunes of local companies or markets; or to investigate Australasian politics, economics, or new technologies.


This database can be searched by itself: or in combination with
MasterFile Premier (using the same screen).

These products (along with
Index New Zealand and findNZarticles) are to be preferred to InfoTrac OneFile for finding information on New Zealand topics.

But if you need to get hold of the actual article(s) (where there is only a citation in the database), talk to one of our librarians.  
  • articles can be requested from other libraries for you as interloan items – for the standard $5.00 interloan charge.
  • But sometimes we need to ask for material from libraries who charge us: so the cost to you may be higher than $5.00.  We would contact you if this was the case, though.
  • The articles are then sent to us as photocopied sheets, which we pass on to you.  

MasterFile Premier
This is the sister database to the  Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre.

It gives you access to abstracts, full text articles and PDFs containing information in the areas of business, health, science, education, culture, and general reference.

It contains far more Australian / New Zealand content than InfoTrac OneFile, but does not have the size or breadth of that product’s overall subject coverage. So to get a  complete sweep of information on New Zealand topics, it is probably best to first try the products listed below, and to then go to InfoTrac OneFile.


This database can be searched by itself: or in combination with the
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (using the same screen).

These products (along with
Index New Zealand and findNZarticles) are to be preferred to InfoTrac OneFile for finding information on New Zealand topics.
 

  Home | Search Library Catalogue | Contact Us |

     

 

Click the logo to jump to the

South Waikato District Council

official website